China the champions

China took home the gold after defeating Korea 3-0 in the final of the SCG Badminton Asia Junior Championships 2015 Mixed Team event.

China started the tie strongly with the mixed doubles Chen Qingchen-Zheng Siwei taking on Korea’s Kim Hyang Im and Lim Su Min. It was an easy 21-14, 21-10 win for the Chinese, giving China the motivation point of the tie. Lin Guipu secured China’s second point in the men’s singles against Lee Jun Su, with a convincing win of 21-14, 21-9.

Korea, traditionally strong in the men’s doubles, tried to reduce the deficit by taking the first game in the match against China’s He Jiting-Zheng Siwei through Choi Jong Woo-Seo Seung Jae, 21-13. The resilient Chinese came back in the second game in the third match winning a hard fought game with a win of 21-19, and eventually went on the seal the title 21-10.

China showing their prowess

China was the well-deserved Champion in this year’s edition of the premier Asia’s junior mixed team event by winning all their ties and also matches from the start of the event, only conceding one game in their quest for the championship.

Indonesia and Japan were the joint second runners-up in the mixed team events.

(Results here)

From left to right, Greg Kim, Ng Yoke Weng, Jassem Kanso, Anton Subowo

The newly appointed key office bearers of Badminton Asia Confederation paid a visit to the secretariat at Stadium Badminton Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, on Tuesday, 12 May 2015.

They included new president Mr Anton Aditya Subowo of Indonesia, the new secretary-general Mr Greg Kim Hong Ki of Korea, Mr Jassem Kanso of Lebanon, who was appointed treasurer, and Finance Committee head Mr Ng Yoke Weng of Singapore.

The office bearers, who will be holding the torch until 2019, were in town to discuss various matters with regards to BAC’s pathway and vision of success. This visit was an initiative by the President to get the ball rolling.



Date: 7th to 11th October 2015

Venue: Kudus, Indonesia

Files to download:


Date: 17th to 22nd November 2015

Venue: Doha, Qatar

Files to download:

  • N/A

new executive committee

Badminton Asia Confederation recently voted in its new executive committee, with Mr Anton Subowo from Indonesia holding the presidency this season. The voting in, which happened during the Annual General Meeting, was held at the Howard Johnson International Plaza in Wuhan, China on the 25th of April.

The election was done in a democratic manner, with BWF’s Stuart Borrie and Jadadish Chandra functioning as scrutineers to the election.

The Presidency this time went uncontested, as the candidates from India and Thailand withdrew just before the casting of ballots commenced. Mr Anton, the new president, will be supported by Mr Hong Ki Kim from Korea as Secretary-General and Mr Jassem Kanso as Honorary Treasurer.

Here’s wishing Mr Anton a fruitful journey within the tenets of BAC!