contact us

Top two seeds in women's singles fall in Sea Games badminton

Aug 28th, 2017

Image credit : Badminton World Federation

Defending Sea Games women's singles champion Busanan Ongbamrungphan of Thailand surrendered her title in the quarter-finals played at the Axiata Arena in Bukit Jalil on Sunday,

The lass was upset by up and coming Indonesian junior Gregoria Mariska who staged a remarkable recovery after the losing the first game in her 17-21, 22-20, 21-17 in 63 minutes.

However, Thailand's challenge in the women's singles is still alive after third seed Pornpawee Chochuwong made the last four with a 21-13, 21-6 victory over Sarah Joy Barredo of the Philippines.

Malaysia have two reprsentatives in the last four with unseeded Goh Jin Wei joining fourth seed Soniia Cheah in the last four.

Soniia came through a three-game battle to prevail 21-18, 13-21, 21-12 against Nguyen Thuy Linh of Vietnam. Jin Wei, the 2015 world junior champion was also involved in three games in her upset 13-21, 21-15, 21-12 win over second seed Fitriani Fitriani of Indonesia.

Malaysia's hopes of retaining the men's singles gold disappeared when fourth seed Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin was beaten 21-16, 19-21, 16-21 Vietnamese veteran Nguyen Tien Minh in a 72-minute match.

At the last Sea Games in Singapore in 2015 the Malaysians celebrated by winning the gold through Chong Wei Feng who defeated compatriot Abdul Latiff in the final.

Tien Minh, who was married nine months ago is surprised that he made the semi-finals.
"Now that I am in the semifinals I will give my best and hope to reach the final and win the gold," said Tien Minh, who will top seed Christie Jonatan of Indonesia in the semi-finals on Monday.

Second seed Khosit Phetpradab of Thailand also made the last four after a 21-8, 21-4 win over Myanmar's Naing Phone Pyae. He will face Indonesia's third seed Mustofa Ihsan Maulana in the semis.


Men's singles
Christie Jonatan (Ina) beat Ryan Ng Zin Rei (Sgp) 21-13, 21-13
Nguyen Tien Minh (Vie) beat Iskandara Zulkarnain Zainuddin (Mas) 16-21, 21-19, 21-16
Mustofa Ihsan Maulana (Ina) beat Loh Kean Yew (Sgp) 22-20, 21-11
Khosit Phetpradap (Tha) beat Naing Phone Pyae (Mya) 21-8, 21-4

Men's doubles
Bodin Isara-Nipitphon Phuangphuapet (Tha) beat Berry Angriawan-Hardianto Hardianto (Ina) 21-18, 18-21, 21-14
Ong Yew Sin-Teo Ee Yi (Mas) beat Carlos Antonie Cayanan-Philip Joper Escueta (Phi) 21-12, 21-6
Kittinupong Kedren-Dechapol Puavaranukroh (Tha) beat Lee Jiang Liang-Jason Wong Guang Liang (Sgp) 21-10, 21-10
Fajar Alfian-Muhammad Rian Agung (Ina) beat Goh Sze Fei-Nur Izzuddin (Mas) 21-10, 21-14

Women's singles 
Gregoria Mariska (Ina) beat Busanan Ongbamrungphan (Tha) 17-21, 22-20, 21-17
Soniia Cheah (Mas) beat Nguyen Thuy Linh (Vie) 21-18, 13-21, 21-12
Pornpawee Chochuwong (Tha) beat Sarah Joy Barredo (Phi) 21-13, 21-6
Goh Jin Wei (Mas) beat Fitriani Fitriani (Ina) 13-21, 21-15, 21-12

Women's doubles
Puttita Supajirakul-Sapsiree Taerattanachai (Tha) beat Cjwo Mei Kuan-Lee Meng Yean (Mas) 21-9, 21-12
Dinh Thi Phuong Hong Dinh-Do Thi Hoai (Vie) beat Sarah Joy Barredo-Alyssa Yasbel Leonardo (Phi) 21-11, 21-10
Jongkolphan Kititharakul- Rawinda Prajongjai (Tha) beat Nguyen Thi Sen-Le Thu Huyen (Vie) 21-17, 21-12
Vivian Hoo-Woon Khe Wei (Mas) beat Ong Ren-Ne-Crystal Wong Jia Ying (Sgp) 21-12, 21-10

Mixed doubles
Dechapol Puavaranukroh-Sapsiree Taerattanachai (Tha) beat Alvin Morada-Alyssa Yasbel Leonardo (Phi) 21-19, 21-17
Chan Peng Soon-Cheah Yee See (Mas) beat Terry Hee Yong Kai-Tan Wei Han (Sgp) 16-21, 21-19, 21-16
Bodin Isara-Savitree Amitrapai (Tha) beat Hafiz Faizal-She Devi Aulia (Ina) 21-12, 21-15
Goh Soon Huat-Shevon Lai Jemie (Mas) beat Pham Hong Nam-Dinh Thi Phuong Hong (Vie) 21-11, 21-15


Related Article