contact us

First day shocks in Thailand Open Grand Prix Gold

Oct 04th, 2016

( Credit Image from 

Indonesian youngster Ihsan Maulana Mustofa, the No 1 seed in the USD120,000 Thailand Open Grand Prix Gold and three other seeded players were shown the exit in the first round in the men's singles on Tuesday.

The Indonesian was a first round casualty in his surprise defeat to unseeded and unknown Thai youngster Suppanyu Avihingsanon 21-17, 17-21, 21-18 as the two locked horns for 73 minutes.

However, Indonesian veteran and No 2 seed Sony Dwi Kuncoro ran out an easy 21-6, 21-10 win over another Thai youngster Pallakorn Jarasjindawong in 25 minutes. 
Also through are two local hopes - No 4 seed Boonsak Ponsana and No 5 seed Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk. Boonsak advanced without lifting his racquet when he received a walkover from Indonesia Simon Santoso.

Tanongsak was a straight sets 21-16, 21-14 winner over Indonesian newcomer Muhammad Bayu Pangisthu in 36 minutes.  No 6 seed Wang Tzu Wei also had an easy passage into the second round when Malaysian Yeoh Kay Ee retired midway in the first set with the score 11-0 in favour of the Taiwanese. 

Japan's Takuma Ueda (No 9 seed) had no difficulty against homester Panchaarapol Nipornram as he strolled to a 21-8, 21-5 victory in 24 minutes.

The other seeded players who failed to make the second round were India's No 7 seed Sameer Verma who lost 14-21, 21-19, 21-17 in a 61-minute match against Thailand junior Kantaphon Wangcharoen, No 13 seed Lin Yu Hsien of Taiwan who fell to Indonesia's Firman Abdul Kholik 15-21, 21-15, 15-21 in 70 minutes.

Malaysian junior and No 16 seed Soong Joo Ven was also a first round casualty, going down to Taiwan's Shih Kuei Chun 19-21, 19-21 in a closely fought 40 minute encounter.

Other seeds who won their opening round matches included Malaysia's Chong Wei Feng (No 12) and India's Harsheel Dani (No 15).


Men's Singles
Suppanyu Avihingsanon (Tha) beat Ihsan Maulana Mustofa (Ina) 21-17, 17-21, 21-18
Tonongsak Saensomnnonsuk (Tha) beat Muhammad Bayu Pangisthu (Ina) 21-16, 21-14
Chong Wei Feng (Mas) beat Henrikho Kho Wibowo (Ina) 20-22, 21-18, 21-13
Harsheel Dani (Ind) beat Mohamad Arif Latif (Mas) 21-18, 21-14
Riichi Takehashi (Jpn) beat Zulfikar Azis Hidayat (Ina) 21-7, 21-14
Sony Dwi Kuncoro (Ina) beat Pallakorn Jarasjindawang (Tha) 21-6, 21-10
Firman Abdul Kholik (Ina) beat Lin Yu Hsien (Tpe) 21-15, 15-21, 21-15
Kantaphon Wangcharoen (Tha) beat Sameer Verma (Ind) 14-21, 21-9, 21-17
Saputra Vicky Angga (Ina) beat Kamphop Atthaviroj (Tha) 21-12, 21-15
Boonsak Ponsana (Tha) w/o Simon Santoso
Soo Teck Zhi (Mas) beat Lu Chia Hung (Tpe) 21-15, 21-15
Takuma Ueda (Jpn) beat Pachaarapol Nipornram (Tha) 21-8, 21-5
Shih Kuei Chun (Tpe) beat Soong Joo Ven (Mas) 21-19, 21-19


Related Article