Home2016Semifinal report

Semifinal report

All-Indonesian men's doubles final in Australia
SYDNEY: Marcus Fernaldi Gideon-Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo and Angga Pratama-Ricky Karanda Suwardi both won their respective semifinals matches today to set-up an all-Indonesian Australian Open Superseries final tomorrow.
This will be the second time this season both pairs have qualified for a Superseries final. Earlier this year, Marcus-Kevin defeated Angga-Ricky in the Indian Open final and they will be aiming for a repeat tomorrow.
Marcus-Kevin, the seventh seeds, swept past their Chinese rivals. Liu Cheng-Zheng Siwei 21-17, 21-11 in half an hour to ensure it would a battle between Indonesians in the final. 
Angga-Ricky, the sixth seeds, got the better of their compatriots, Berry Angriawan-Rian Agung Saputro in an all-Indonesian semifinal encounter. Angga-Ricky won 21-16, 21-14 after 33 minutes.
The mixed doubles final will see an all-Chinese final after eighth seeds Lu Kai-Huang Yaqiong and Zheng Siwei-Chen Qingchen both made it through today.
Lu Kai-Huang Yaqiong defeated seventh seeded Malaysians Chan Peng Soon-Goh Liu Ying 21-15, 21-12 while Zheng Siwei-Chen Qingchen overcame sixth seeded Praveen Jordan-Debby Susanto of Indonesia 19-21, 21-11, 21-16.
The men's singles will be a fight between Dane Hans Kristian Vittinghus and South Korean Jeon Hyeok Jin. Vittinghus defeated India's K. Srikanth while Hyeok Jin overcame giant-killer Anthony Ginting of Indonesia.  
The four semifinalists were all unseeded after young Indonesian Anthony sent topseed Chen Long crashing out yesterday.
The women's singles semifinals today saw the favourites crash out. Fourth seeded Wang Yihan was sent packing by India's Saina Nehwal while third seeded Li Xuerui fell to unseeded compatriot Sun Yu.
Indonesia's Nitya Krishinda Maheswari-Greysia Polii, the second seeds, will face China's Bao Yixin-Chen Qingchen in the women's doubles final tomorrow.

Men's singles
Hans Kristian Vittinghus (Den) bt K. Srikanth (Ind) 22-20, 21-13
Jeon Hyeok Jin (Kor) bt Anthony Ginting (Ina) 21-19, 16-21, 21-19
Men's doubles
7-Marcus Fernaldi Gideon-Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo (Ina) bt Liu Cheng-Zheng Siwei (Chn) 21-17, 21-11
6-Angga Pratama-Ricky Karanda Suwardi (Ina) bt Berry Angriawan-Rian Agung Saputro (Ina) 21-16, 21-14
Women's singles
7-Saina Nehwal (Ind) bt 4-Wang Yihan (Chn) 21-8, 21-12
Sun Yu (chn) bt 3-Li Xuerui (chn) 21-18, 21-19
Women's doubles
Bao Yixin-Chen Qingchen (Chn) bt 7-Naoko Fukuman-Kurumi Yonao (Jpn) 15-21, 21-18, 21-16
2-Nitya Krishinda Maheswari-Greysia Polii (Ina) bt 3-Tang Yuanting-Yu Yang (chn) 21-18, 21-17
Mixed doubles
8-Lu Kai-Huang Yaqiong (Chn) bt 7-Chan Peng Soon-Goh Liu Ying (Mas) 21-15, 21-12
Zheng Siwei-Chen Qingchen (Chn) bt 6-Praveen Jordan-Debby Susanto (Ina) 19-21, 21-11, 21-16

Women's doubles: Bao Yixin-Chen Qingchen (Chn) vs 2-Nitya Krishinda Maheswari-Greysia Polii (Ina) 
Men's doubles: 6-Angga Pratama-Ricky Karanda Suwardi (Ina) vs 7-Marcus Fernaldi Gideon-Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo (Ina)
Men's singles: Jeon Hyeok Jin (Kor) vs Hans Kristian Vittinghus (Den)
Mixed doubles: Zheng Siwei-Chen Qingchen (Chn) vs 8-Lu Kai-Huang Yaqiong (Chn)
Women's singles: Sun Yu (Chn) vs 7-Saina Nehwal (Ind)


Most Popular