Home2016Rio Olympics - Asian top seeds breeze through in doubles events in...

Rio Olympics – Asian top seeds breeze through in doubles events in Rio Olympics

Top seeds and defending mixed doubles champions Zhang Nan-Zhao Yunlei of China handed Germany's Michael Fuchs-Birgiot Michels a 21-19, 21-16 defeat in their opening Group A preliminary round match at Riocentro Pavilion 4 on the first day of the badminton competition on Thursday.

Also in the same group All-England champions Praveen Jordan-Debby of Indonesia went through the full distance to subdue Hong Kong's hope Reginald Lee Chun Hei-Chau Hoi Wah 21-12, 19-21, 21-15 in a 54 minute battle.

In the two Group D matches played on Thursday second seeded Koreans Kim Sung-hyun-Kim Ha-na strolled to a 21-10, 21-12 win over Phillip Chew-Jamie Subandhi of the United States of America while Japan's Kenta Kazuno-Ayane Kurihara walked away with a 21-14, 21-19 win over Dutch pair Jacco Arends-Selena Piek in a 45 minute encounter.
Malaysia also had a winning start in the mixed doubles when medal hopes Chan Peng Soon-Goh Liu Ying won 21-13, 21-19 against Thailand's Bodin Issara =Savitree Amitrapai in their opening Group C match.

In another Group C match Indonesia's third seeds Tontowi Ahmad-Liliyana Natsir made a winning start with a 21-7, 21-8 win in 25 minutes over Australia's Robin Middleton-Leanne Choo. The Indonesians were beaten semi-finalists at the last Olympics in London in 2012.
In the men's doubles Korea's world number one and top seeds Lee Yong-dae-Yoo Yeon-seong were too good for Australians Matthew Chau-Sawan Serasinghe in their opening Group A match and won 21-14, 21-16. 

Women's doubles top seeds and favourites Misaki Matsutomo-Ayaka Takahashi of Japan brushed aside India's Jwala Gutta-Ashwini Ponappa 21-15, 21-10 in 38 minutes in Group A
Malaysia's hope Vivian Hoo-Woon Khe Wei overcame Great Britain's Heather Olver-Lauren Smith 21-17, 24-22 in 49 minutes for a winning start to their campaign in Group C.
Also in the same group third seeds Nitya Krishinda Maheswari-Greysia Polii of Indonesia needed only 28 minutes as they ripped through Hong Kong's Poon Lok Yan-Tse Ying Suet for a 21-9, 21-11 win.

The Luo twins of China Luo Ying-Luo Yu battled for 55 minutes for their 21-11, 21-18 win over Denmark's tested combination of Christinna Pedersen-Kamilla Rytter Juhl for a winning start in Group B.


Men's doubles

Group A
Lee Yong-dae-Yoo Yeon-seong (Kor) beat Matthew Chau-Sawan Serasinghe (Aus) 21-14, 21-16
Vladimir Ivanov-Ivan Sozonov (Rus) beat Lee Sheng-mu-Tsai Chia Hsin (Tpe) 21-11, 22-20

Group B
Goh V Shem-Tan Wee Kiong (Mas) beat Michael Fuchs-Johannes Schoettler (Ger) 21-14, 21-17
Fu Haifeng-Zhang Nan (Chn) beat Phillip Chew-Sattawat Pongnairat (US) 21-6, 21-7

Group C
Kim Gi-jung-Kim Sa-rang (Kor) beat Adam Cwalina-Pryemyslaw Wacha (Pol) 21-14, 21-15

Group D
Mohammad Ahsan-Hendra Setiawan (Ina) beat Manu Attri-Sumeeth B Reddy (Ina) 21-8, 21-13 
Hiroyuki Endo-Kenichi Hayakawa (Jpn) beat Chai Biao-Hong Wei (Chn) 21-18, 14-21, 23-21 

Women's doubles
Group A
Misaki Matsutomo-Ayaka Takahashi (Jpn) beat Jwala Gutta-Ashwini Ponappa (Ind) 21-15, 21-10

Group B 
Luo Ying-Luo Yu (Chn) beat Christinna Pedersen-Kamilla Rytter Juhl (Den) 21-11, 21-18

Group C
Vivian Hoo-Woon Khe Wei (Mas) beat Heather Olver-Lauren Smith (GB) 21-7, 24-22
Nitya Krishinda Maheswari-Greysia Polii (Ina) beat Poon Lok Yan-Tse Ying Suet (Hkg) 21-9, 21-11

Group D
Tang Yuanting-Yu Yang (Chn) beat Johanna Goliszewski-Carla Nelte (Ger) 21-10, 21-11
Chang Ye-na-Lee So-hee (Kor) beat Gabriela Stoeva-Stefani Stoeva (Bul) 24-22, 21-15

Mixed doubles

Group A
Zhang Nan-Zhao Yunlei (Chn) beat Michael Fuchs-Birgit Michels (Ger) 21-19, 21-16
Praveen Jordan-Debby Susanto (Ina) beat Reginald Lee Chun Hei-Chau Hoi Wah (Hkg) 21-12, 19-21, 21-15

Group C
Chan Peng Soon-Goh Liu Ying (Mas) beat Bodin Isara-Savitree Amitrapai (Tha) 21-13, 21-19
Tontowi Ahmad-Liliyana Natsir (Ina) beat Robin Middleton-Leanne Choo (Aus) 21-7, 21-8

Group D
Ko Sung-hyun-Kim Ha-na (Kor) beat Phillip Chew-Jamie Subandhi (US) 21-10, 21-12
Kenta Kazuno-Ayane Kurihara (Jpn) beat Jacco Arends-Selena Piek (Ned) 21-14, 21-19



Most Popular