Home2016All-Thailand women's singles final on the cards in Thailand Open Grand Prix...

All-Thailand women’s singles final on the cards in Thailand Open Grand Prix Gold

Malaysia's junior world champion Goh Jin Wei earned herself a chance for revenge against Thailand's Busanan Ongbamrungphan after the two qualified for the semi-finals in the USD120,000 Thailand Open Grand Prix Gold at Nimibutr Stadium in Bangkok on Friday.
The semi-final clash in Bangkok will be a repeat of last month's final in the Yonex Sunrise Indonesia Masters with the Thai coming out tops with a 21-15, 21-13 win in their only previous meeting.

In the Thailand Open quarter-finals No 3 seed Busanan, (world No 16) carved out a 20-22, 21-13, 21-12 win over No 7 seed China-born Liang Xiaoyu of Singapore in a 63 minute battle.
The 16-year-old Jin Wei, ranked world No 57, was on court for only 30 minutes for a 21-17, 21-13 win over compatriot Ho Yen Mei.

In the other semi-final Thailand's No 4 seed Nitchaon Jindapol set up a possible all-Thailand final when she brushed aside the Indonesian challenge of Dinar Dyah Ayustine 21-12, 21-15 in 38 minutes.

Standing in her way for a place in Sunday's final is Japan's unseeded Aya Ohori. Ohori, the Japan Open semi-finalist gave a confident performance when she outplayed Malaysian Olympian and No 6 seed Tee Jing Yi 21-13, 21-6 in 27 minutes.

Thailand is also in line for a place in the men's singles final when No 5 seed Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk proved too strong for his compatriot Suppanyu Avihingsanon 21-8, 21-18 to keep his challenge alive.

The Thai faces Japan's No 8 seed Kenta Nishimoto. The Japanese upset No 3 seed Hsu Jen-hao of Taiwan 21-16, 21-11.

No 2 seed Sony Dwi Kuncoro of Indonesia is also through to the semi-finals after his straight sets 21-12, 21-15 win over Taiwan's Hsueh Hsuan Yi. The Indonesian plays Hong Kong's Lee Cheuk Yiu for a place in the final. 

Cheuk Yiu ended Malaysian professional Liew Daren's run in Bangkok with a 21-12, 17-21, 21-15 win in 59 minutes.

Unseeded Japanese pair Takuto Inoue-Yuki Kaneko continued their march in the men's doubles when they scalped No 7 seeds OR Chin Chung-Tang Chun Man of Hong Kong 21-18, 21-14. They meet Indonesia's Fajar Alfian-Muhammad Rian Ardianto – 13-21, 29-27, 21-19 winners over gritty Lee Jhe-huei-Lee Yang of Taiwan.     

No 2 seeds and favourites Berry Angriawan-Rian Agung Saputro of Indonesia ended Hoon Thien How-Teo Kok Siang's run – beating the Malaysian privateers 21-16, 21-17 in 32 minutes.
The Indonesians face another Malaysian hurdle in the semi-finals in Lim Khim Wah-Ong Jian Guo who advanced with an upset win over No 3 seeds Bodin Isara-Nipitphon Phuangphuapet. The Malaysians won 21-15, 17-21, 21-14.

Malaysia's hope in the mixed doubles Tan Kian Meng-Lai Pei Jing, the No 3 seeds will meet Thailand's No 2 seeds Puavaranukrih Dechapol-Sapsiree Taerattanachai in the semi-finals.
The other semi-final is between Thailand's Supak Jomkoh-Puttita Supajirakul and Hong Kong's Tang Chun Man-Tse Ying Suet.

RESULTS ( Quarter-finals)

Men's Singles
Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk (Tha) beat Suppanyu Avihingsanon (Tha) 21-8, 21-18
Kenta Nishimoto (Jpn) beat Hsu Jen Hao (Tpe) 21-16, 21-11

Sony Dwi Kuncoro (Ina) beat Hsueh Hsuan Yi (Tpe) 21-12, 21-15
Lee Cheok Yiu (Hkg) beat Daren Liew (Mas)  21-12.17-21, 21-15

Men's Doubles
Takuto Inoue-Yuki Kaneko (Jpn) beat OR Chin Chung-Tang Chun Man (Hkg) 21-18, 21-14

Lim Khim Wah-Ong Zyan Guo (Mas) beat Bodin Isara-Nipitphon Puangphuapet (Tha) 21-15, 17-21, 21-14
Fajar Alfian-Muhammad Rian Ardianto (Ina) beat Lee Jhe-huei-Yang Lee (Tpe) 13-21, 29-27, 21-19
Berry Angriawan-Rian Agung Saputro (Ina) beat Hoon Thein How-Teo Kok Siang (Mas) 21-16, 21-17

Women's Singles
Aya Ohori (Jpn) beat Tee Jing Yi (Mas) 21-13, 21-6 
Nitchaon Jindapol (Tha) beat Dinar Dyah Ayustine (Ina) 21-12. 21-15
Goh Jin Wei (Mas) beat Ho Yen Mei (Mas) 21-17, 21-13

Busanan Ongbamrungphan (Tha) beat Liang Xiaoyu (Sin) 20-22, 21-13, 21-12

Women's Doubles
Jongkholphan Kititharakul-Rawinda Prajongjai (Tha) beat Keshya Nurvita Hanadia-Devi Tika Permatasari (Ina) 21-18, 21-10
Puttita Supajirakul-Sapsiree Taerattanachai (Tha)( Chow Mei Kuan-Lee Meng Yean (Mas) 21-9, 21-14
Mayu Matsumoto-Wakane Nagahara (Jpn) beat Chaladcham Chayanit-Phataimas Muenwong (Tha) 15-21, 21-14, 21-17
Miki Kashihara-Miyuki Kato (Jpn) beat Chen Sze yu-Wu Ti Jung (Tpe0 21-19, 21-16

Mixed Doubles 
Tang Chun Man-Tse Ying Suet (Hkg) beat Chang Ko-chi- Chang Hsin Tien (Tpe) 21-9, 21-11
Supak Jomkoh-Puttita Supajirakul (Tha) beat Tam Chu Hei-Ng Tsz Yau (Hkg) 21-17, 15-21, 21-12
Tan Kian Meng-Lai Pei Jing (Mas) beat Liao Min Chun-Chen Hsiao Huan (Tpe) 21-15, 19-21, 21-11
Puavaranukroh Dechapol-Sapsiree Taerattanachai (Tha) beat Niphitphon Phuangphuapet-JongkolphanKititharakul (Tha) 21-16, 21-19


Most Popular