Home2016Danes take a beating in men's singles in Yonex Denmark Open

Danes take a beating in men’s singles in Yonex Denmark Open

Two of the current big names in badminton in Denmark suffered shock first
round defeats in the USD700,000 Yonex Denmark Open Superseries Premier in Odense on Wednesday.

Third seed Jan O Jorgensen saw only 57 minutes of action against Chinese youngster Shi Yuqi who won 21-16, 19-21, 21-14 while Australian Open winner Hans-Kristian Vittinghus fared no better in his first round against another Asian ace Son Wan-ho of Korea. Vittinghus suffered a straight sets 16-21, 15-21 in 45 minutes.  

Asian shuttlers once again showed their might in the Superseries with world No 1 and top seed Lee Chong Wei moving into the second round although he was taken the full distance by Hong Kong Wei Nan before coming back from a set down in his 16-21, 21-19, 21-11.
Chong Wei, probably playing his last Denmark Open, took an hour in his victory – the same time as Denmark's hope Viktor Axelsen's 21-14, 22-24, 21-10 win over Korean youngster Jeon Hyeok-Jin.

Both, Chong Wei and Axelsen won medals in the Rio Olympics. The Malaysian won the silver while the lanky Dane took the bronze in the men's singles.

Denmark also suffered a first round defeat in the women's singles when Line Kjaersfeldt was beaten by China-born United States player Zhang Beiwen. Beiwen won 21-11, 21-16 on a day when top seed and world No 1 Carolina Marin struggled.

The Spaniard had to use all her experience to oust Denmark's newcomer Julie Dawall Jakobsen with a 21-13, 16-21, 24-22 win in 53 minutes. 

No 3 seed Nozomi Okuhara of Japan outplayed Hong Kong's Yip Pui Yin 21-11, 24-22 while No 4 Sung Ji-hyun breezed past Singapore's China-born Liang Xiaoyu 21-11, 21-15.

Also through to the next round are No 5 seed Tai Tzu Ying (Image above) of Taiwan who was too good for Bukgaria's Linda Zetchiri 21-16, 21-11 while No 7 seed Sun Yu of China stopped Korean Kim Hyo-min 21-9, 21-14.

Two Thai women player Porntip Buranaprasertsuk and Busanan Ongbamrungphan cleared their first round hurldles in straight sets. Porntip was an easy 21-12, 21-15 winner over Taiwan's Hsu Ya Ching while Busanan outplayed Russia's Ksenia Polikarpova 21-7, 21-14.


Men's singles

Lee Chong Wei (Mas) beat Wei Nan (Hkg) 16-21, 21-19, 21-11
Viktor Axelsen (Den) beat Jeon Hyeon-jin (Kor) 21-14, 22-24, 21-10
Shi Yuqi (Chn) beat Jan O Jorgsensen (Den) 21-16, 19-21, 21-14
Tian Houwei (Chn) beat Pablo Aiman (Spn) 21-13, 21-15
Chou Tien Chen (Tpe) beat Hu Yun (Hkg) 22-20, 21-5
Son Wan-ho (Kor) beat Hans-Kristian Vitinghus (Den) 21-16, 21-15
Marc Zwiebler (Ger) Qian Bin (Chn) 17-21, 21-18, 21-19
Anders Antonsen (Den) beat Hsu Jen Hao (Tpe) 21-10, 21-13
Vincent Wong Wing Ki (Hkg) Khoset Phetpradap (Tha) 21-14, 21-11
Rajiv Ouseph (Eng) beat Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin (Mas) 21-18, 17-21, 21-17
Angus Ng Ka Long (Hkg) beat Lucas Claerbout (Fra) 23-21, 21-8
H. S. Prannoy (Ind) beat Chong Wei Feng (Mas) 21-13, 19-21, 22-20
Lee Hyun-II (Kor) beat Wang Tzu Wei (Tpe) 14-21, 21-15, 21-15
Brice Leverdez (Fra) beat Zulfadli Zulkifli (Mas) 20-22, 21-12, 21-14
Ajay Jayaram (Ind) beat Boonsak Ponsana (Tha) 21-15, 21-16
Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk (Tha) B. Sai Praneeth (Ind) 21-17, 19-21, 21-15

Women's singles
Carolina Marin (Spn) beat Julie Dawall Jakobsen (Den) 21-13, 14-021, 24-22
Sayaka Sato (Jpn) beat Natalia Koch Rohde (Den) 20-22, 21-16, 21-13
Minatsu Mitani (Jpn) beat Kristina Gavenholt (Cze) 21-9, 21-11
Porntip Buranaprasertsuk (Tha) beat Hsu Ya Ching (Tpe) 21-12, 21-5
Busanan Ongbamrungphan (Tha) beat Ksenia Polikarpova (Rus) 21-7, 21-14
Kim Na-young (Kor) beat Kate Foo Kune (Mrs) 21-17, 21-19
Sun Yu (Chn) beat Kim Hyo-min (Kor) 21-9, 21-14
Nozomi Okuhara (Jpn) beat Yip Pui Yin (Hkg) 21-11, 24-22
Akane Yamaguchi (Jpn) beat Nitchaon Jindapol (Tha) 21-18, 21-23, 21-17
Zhang Beiwen (USA) beat Line Kjaersfeldt (Den) 21-11, 21-16
Tai Tzu Ying (Tpe) beat Linda Zetchiri (Bul) 21-16, 21-11
Sung Ji-hyun (Kor) beat Liang Xiaoyu (Sin) 21-11, 21-15


Most Popular