Korean veteran Lee Hyung-II once again showed that age is not factor as he continues to torment his younger opponents on the Badminton World Federation's Superseries circuit.

At the on-going Yonex French Open in Paris the 36-year-old professional tamed Denmark's Rio Olympics bronze medallist, second seed Viktor Axelsen within a week to advance to the quarter-finals in the USD300,000 Superseries on Thursday.

The evergreen Hyung-II notched a straight sets 22-20, 21-12 win over Axelsen to earn a quarter-final match against fifth seed Chou Tien Chen. The Taiwanese defeated India's H.S. Prannoy 21-9, 21-16 in his quarte-final match.

Hyung-II's win over Axelsen was second in a row, having beaten the Dame 7-21, 21-13, 21-14 in the second round in the Denmark Open last week.

(Credit Image : Badzine) 

He is now favoured to reach the last four. Hyung-II has a 2-0 lead in the head-to-head count against Tien Chen. 

In another upset Shi Yuqi ( Image above) defeated No 4 seed Tian Houwei 21-13, 10-21, 21-10 in an all-China second round match which lasted 54 minutes. Shi Yuqi faces Indonesia's Christie Jonathan who ousted England's Rajic Ouseph 21-12, 21-12.

No 3 seed Jan O Jorgensen is also through to the quarter-finals after his 22-20, 21-15 win over Indonesian youngster Anthony Ginting and will face Hong Kong's Angus Ng Ka Long who packed off another Dane – Australian Open champion Hans-Kristian Vittinghus 23-21, 21-19.

In the women's singles Rio Olympics silver medallist P.V. Sindhu of India was knocked out of the tournament in the second round. The lanky Indian fell to a 20-22, 17-21 defeat to China's He Bingjiao.

Fourth seed Tai Tzu Ting of stayed in contention when she carved out a 21-10, 18-21, 21-15 win over Spain's Beatriz Corrales and will face Korean No 5 seed Sung Ji-hyun – 21-11, 21-13 winner over Taiwan's Hsu Ya-ching.

Denmark Open winner Akane Yamaguchi stayed on track for a her third successive Superseries title after putting out Thailand's Nitchaon Jindapol 21-19, 21-16. She will face China-born Zhang Beiwen of the United States for a place in the last four.

Indonesia's new pair Mohammad Ahsan-Berry Angriawan pulled off an upset when outplayed No 3 seeds Mads Conrad Petersen-Mads Pieler Kolding 21-13, 21-15 in only 34 minutes.

Indonesia are assured of a semi-final ticket with Ahsan-Berry facing compatriots and No 8 seeds Angga Pratama-Ricky Karanda Suwardi who beat Thailand's Kittinupong Kedren-Dechapol Puavaranukroh 21-17, 21-17.

Men's singles

Hsu Jen Hao (Tpe) beat Wang Tzu Wei (Tpe) 22=20, 21-12
Jonathan Christie  (Ina) beat Rajiv Ouseph (Eng) 21-12, 21-12
Jan O Jorgensen (Den) beat Anthony Ginting (Ina) 22-20, 21-15
Chou Tien Chen (Tpe) beat H.S. Prannoy (ind) 21-19, 21-16
Shi Yuqi (Chn) beat Tian Houwei (Chn) 21-13, 10-21, 21-10
Son Wan-ho (Kor) beat Zulfadli Zulkifli (Mas) 21-15, 21-14
Wang Tzu Wei (Tpe) beat Wei Nan (Hkg) 21-13, 21-16
Lee Hyun-II (Kor) beat Viktor Axelsen (Den) 22-20, 21-12

Men's doubles

Mohammad Ahsan-Berry Angriawan (Ina) beat Mads Conrad Petersen-Mads Pieler Kolding (Den) 21-13, 21-15
Bodin Isara-Nipitphon Phuangphuapet (Tha) beat Matthew Nottingahm-Harley Towler (Eng) 21-13, 21-17
Lee Jhe-huei-Lee Yang (Tpe) beat Marcus Fernaldi Gideon-Kevein Sanjaya Sukamuljo (Ina) 19-21, 21-16, 21-14
Angga Pratama-Ricky Karanda Suwardi (Ina) beat Kittinupong Kedren-Dechapol Puavaranukroh (Tha) 21-17, 21-17
Kim Astrup-Anders Skaarup Rasmussen (Den) beat Chung Eui-seok-Kim Dukyoung (Kor) 25-23, 15-21, 21-15
Takeshi Kamura-Keigo Sonoda (Jpn) beat Marcus Ellis-Chris Langridge (Eng) 21-9, 18-21, 21-13
Mathias Boe-Carsten Mogensen (Den) beat Chen Hung Ling-Wang Chi-Lin (Tpe) 21-18, 21-18
Vladimir Ivanov-Ivan Sozonov (Rus) beat Takuro Hoki-Yuzo Kobayashi (Jpn) 21-17, 21-19

Women's singles

Zhang Beiwen (USA) beat Nanna Vainio (Fin) 21-9, 21-13
Akane Yamaguchi (Jpn) beat Nitchaon Jindapol (Tha) 21-19, 21-16

He Bingjiao (Chn) beat P.V. Sindhu (Ind) 22-10, 21-17
Tai Tzu Ying (Tpe) beat Beatriz Corrales (Spn) 21-10, 18-21, 21-15
Busanan Ongbamrungphan (Tha) beat Minatsu Mitani (Jpn) 13-21, 21-10, 21-14
Chiang Mei Hui (Tpe) beat Maria Ulitina (Ukr) 21-12, 21-9
Sung Ji-hyun (Kor) beat Hsu Ya Ching (Tpe) 21-11, 21-13
Sun Yu (Chn) beat Sayaka Sato (Jpn) 21-14, 17-21, 21-16

Women's doubles

Nitya Krishinda Maheswari-Greysia Polii (Ina) Chiang Mei Hui-Hsu Ya Ching (Tpe) 21-9, 21-18
Kamilla Rhtter Juhl-Christinna Pedersen (Den) beat Puttita Supajirakul-Sapsiree Taerattannachai (Tha) 21-14, 21-19
Chang Ye-na-Lee So-hee (Kor) beat Isabel Hettrich-Carla Nelte (Ger) 21-17, 21-10
Misaki Matsutomo- Ayaka Takahashi (Jpn) beat Kim Hye-rin-Yoo Hae-won (Kor) 21-12, 12-16
Huang Dongping-Li Yinhui (Chn) beat Luo Ying-Luo Yu (Chn) 21-18, 21-15
Naoko Fukuman-Kurumi Yonao (Jpn) beat Johanna Goliszewski-Lara Kaepplein (Ger) 21-9, 21-13
Della Destara Haris-Rosyita Eka Putri Sari (Ina) beat Jung Kyung-eun-Shin Seung-chan (Kor) 18-21, 21-8, 21-11

Mixed doubles

Kanta Kazuno-Ayane Kurihara (Jpn) beat Adam Hall-Lauren Smith (Scot/Eng) 21-17, 21-15
Praveen Jordan-Debby Susanto (Ina) beat Tan Kian Meng- Lai Pei Jing (Mas) 22-20, 14-21, 21-16
Ko Sung-hyun-Kim Ha-na (Kor) beat Kim Dukyoung-Yoo Hae-won (Kor) 21-11, 21-13
Zhang Nan-Li Yunhui (Chn) beat Choi Solgyu-Chae Yoo-jung (Kor) 21-19, 21-14
Zheng Siwei-Chen Qingchen (Chn) beat Dechapol Puavaranukroh-Sapsiree Taerattanachai (Tha) 21-16, 14-21, 21-15
Bodin Isara-Savitree Amitrapai (Tha) beat Ronald Alexander-Melati Daeva Octavianti (Ina) 21-11, 21-18
Joachim Fischer Nielsen-Christinna Pedersen (Den) beat Robin Tabeling-Cheryl Seinen (Ned) 21-14, 21-8
Yoo Yeon-seong-Chang Ye-na (Kor) beat Lee Yang-Hsu Ya-Ching (Tpe) 21-7, 21-16


Most Popular