Home2017Victory on homesoil for Tian Houwei in China Masters

Victory on homesoil for Tian Houwei in China Masters

It came the hard way but China's Tian Houwei did enough to celebrate his third career title in style – winning this year's China Masters men's singles final in Changzhou, Jiangsu in the final on Sunday.

The world No 9 carved out a 21-15, 15-21, 21-16 win over giant killer Qiao Bin in a 75-minute thriller for his third career win and end a nearly four year drought.

For the record, Qiao Bin, ranked No 24, had pulled off a stunning 21-16, 15-21, 21-14 win over defending champion and top seed Lin Dan in the semi-finals on Saturday for his first victory over the Chinese legend which left the head-to-head count tied at 1-1.

China also clinched victories in the women's and mixed doubles events while Taiwan took the men's doubles and Japan the women's singles.

The women's singles which was an all-Japan affair. Second seed Aya Ohori was taken the full distance before prevailing 21-9, 9-21, 21-18 in 64 minutes over fifth seed Saena Kawakami.

China's Bao Yixin-Yu Xiaohan, who stunned top seeds and compatriots Huang Dongping-Li Yinhui in the semi-final made use of the opportunity to beat Huang Yaqiong-Tang Jinhua with a thrilling come-from-behind 8-21, 21-14, 21-17 to lift the women's doubles title in 71 minutes.

The men's doubles saw Taiwan's top seeds Chen Hung-ling-Wang Chi-lin living up to their top billing as they strolled to a straight sets 21-14, 21-6 win over Japan's fifth seeds Takuto Inoue-Yuki Kaneko in only 30 minutes.

China's Wang Yilyu-Huang Dongping beat Taiwan's Liao Min-chun-Chen Hsiao-huan 21-14, 21-10 for the mixed doubles title.


Men's singles
Tian Houwei (Chn) beat Qiao Bin  (Chn)  21-16, 15-21, 21-16

Men's Doubles
Chen Hung Ling-Wang Chi Lin (Tpe) beat Takuto Inoue-Yuki Kaneko (Jpn) 21-14, 21-6

Women's Singles
Aya Ohori (Jpn) beat Saena Kawakami (Jpn)  21-9, 9-2,  21-18

Women's Doubles
Bao Yixin-Yu Xiaohan (Chn) beat Huang Yaqiong-Tang Jinhua (Chn) 8-21, 21-14, 21-17

Mixed Doubles
Wang Yilyu-Huang Dongping (Chn) beat Liao Min-chun-Chen Hsiao-huan (Tpe) 21-14, 21-10


Most Popular