Home2017Men's and women's doubles top seeds blown away in BCA Indonesia Open

Men’s and women’s doubles top seeds blown away in BCA Indonesia Open

Indonesia's Marcus Fernaldi Gideon-Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo and Japan's Misaki Matsutomo-Ayaka Takahashi – the world's top ranked pairs in the men's and women's doubles respectively and the top seeds in the USD1 million BCA Indonesia Open Superseries Premier suffered shock defeats in the first round on Wednesday.

The Japanese – the reigning Olympics champions were the first to be dumped at the Jakarta Convention Center – losing to China's Huang Yaqiong-Yu Xiaohan in straight sets 21-7, 22-20 in 44 minutes.

It has been a miserable year for Matsutomo-Takahashi after taking their game to a high in 2016 with the Rio Olympics gold medal topping the list apart from the All-England title. The pair has yet to win a superseries title this year although they reached the final in the OUE Singapore Open.

But the biggest shock  was to follow when Marcus-Kevin, hot favourites for the men's doubles in their own den were also blown away in straight sets 21-16, 21-16 in front of their boisterous home fans by world No 2 Mathias Boe-Carsten Mogensen of Denmark in only 34 minutes.

Kevin attributed the defeat to a shoulder injury he sustained during training last week and said it affected his game.

Meanwhile, in the men's singles top seed Lee Chong Wei also had to dig into his reserves in his comeback win over Indonesian professional Tommy Sugiarto. The 34-year-old Malaysian, who has surrendered his world No 1 ranking and slipped to number three due to fewer tournaments he is playing, prevailed 13-21, 21-10, 21-18 in a 62-minute battle.

Chong Wei next plays India's H.S. Prannoy (ranked No 29) for a place in the quarter-finals. Prannoy upset Indonesia's world No 20 Anthony Ginting 21-13, 21-18. But Christie Jonatan kept Indonesia's flag flying in the men's singles when he beat Hsu Jen-hao of Chinese Taipei 21-17, 21-15.

Olympics and world champion Chen Long of China kept his challenge alive with a 21-14, 21-14 win over Germany's Marc Zwiebler but his compatriot and five-times world champion and two-times Olympics champion Lin Dan was shown the exit by Wang Tzu Wei of Chinese Taipei with a 21-16, 21-18 win over the No 7 seed.

Second seed and current world No 1 Son Wan-ho of Korea came through a 21-14, 21-18 win over India's B. Sai Praneeth – winner of the recent Thailand Open Grand Prix Gold.  

Men's singles 

Lee Chong Wei (Mas) beat Tommy Sugiarto (Ina)13-21. 21-10, 21-18
Zhao Junpeng (Chn) beat Huang Yuxiang (Chn) 21-15, 21-19
H. S. Prannoy (Ind) beat Anthony Ginting (Ina) 21-13, 21-18
Chen Long (Chn) beat Marc Zwiebler (Ger) 21-14, 21-14
Son Wan-ho (Kor) beat B. Sai Praneeth (Ind) 21-14, 21-18
Jonatan Christie (Ina) beat Hsu Jen-hao (Tpe) 21-17, 21-15
Emil Holst (Den) beat Viktor Axelsen (Den) 21-12, 12-21, 21-17
Shi Yuqi (Chn) beat Lee Hyun-ll (Kor) 21-18, 21-12
Kazumasa Sakai (Jpn) beat Chong Wei Feng (Mas) 21-18, 21-8
Angus Ng Ka Long (Hkg) beat Tian Houwei (Chn) 21-14, 10-21, 21-19
Rajiv Ouseph (Eng) beat Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk (Tha) 21-13, 12-21, 25-23 
Wang Tzu Wei (Tpe) Lin Dan (Chn) 21-16, 21-18
K. Srikanth (Ind) beat Vincent Wong Wing Ki (Hkg) 21-15, 17-21, 21-16
Jan O Jorgensen (Den) beat Brice Leverdez (Fra) 21-16, 21-18
Andes Antonsen (Den) beat Hu Yun (Hkg) 21-10, 21-19
Chou Tien Chen (Tpe) beat Hans-Kristian Vittinghus (Den) 21-19, 21-12

Men's Doubles
Kim Astrup-Anders Skaarup Rasmussen (Den) beat Marcus Fernaldi Gideon-Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo (Ina) 21-16, 21-16
Liu Cheng-Zhang Nan (Chn) beat Ong Yew Sin-Teo Ee Yi (Mas) 21-17, 21-12
Takeshi Kamura-Keogo Sonoda (Jpn) beat Chen Hung Ling-Wang Chi-Lin (Tpe) 21-18, 14-10 (rtd)
Li Junhui-Liu Yuchen (Chn) beat OR Chin Chung-Tang Chun Man (Hkg) 21-18, 21-13

Women's Doubles

Huang Yaqiong-Yu Xiaohan (Chn) beat Misaki Matsutomo-Ayaka Takahashi (Jpn) 21-7, 22-20
Poon Lok Yan-Tse Ying Suet (Hkg) beat Vivian Hoo-Woon Khe Wei (Mas) 21-9, 21-12
Chen Qingchen-Jia Yifan (Chn) beat Chow Mei Kuan-Lee Meng Yean (Mas) 22-20, 13-21, 21-14
Puttita Supajirakul-Sapsiree Taerattanachai (Tha) beat Tiara Rosalia Nuraidah-Rizki Amerlia (Ina) 21-16, 21-15
Angga Shitta Awanda-Ni Ketut Mahadewi Istarani (Ina) beat Yulfira Barkah-Meirisa Cindy Sahputri (Ina) 23-21, 18-21, 21-15
Shiho Tanaka-Koharu Yonemoto (Jpn) beat Lim Yin Loo-Yap Cheng Wen (Mas) 21-18, 14-21, 21-12
Chang Ye-na-Lee So-hee (Kor) beat Maiken Fruergaard-Sara Thygesen (Den) 21-14, 21-13 



Most Popular