Home2017Indonesia and Thailand retain team gold in Sea Games badminton

Indonesia and Thailand retain team gold in Sea Games badminton

Indonesia and Thailand retained their SEA Games badminton team gold for men and women respectively – handing hosts Malaysia painful defeats in both finals at Axiata Arena in Bukit Jalil, Kuala Lumpur on Thursday.

In the men's final Indonesia defeated Malaysia 3-0 while in the women's final Thailand outshone Malaysia with a 3-1 win – breaking the hearts of the home fans.

Malaysia were never a threat to Indonesia after losing the first singles. Christie Jonatan a 21-18, 21-17 winner against Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin 3-1.

Any hopes of Malaysia staging a fightback disappeared into thin air when Alfian Fajar-Ardianto Muhamad Fajar registered a 21-12, 16-21, 21-14 win over Ong Yew Sin-Teo Ee Yi.

Mustofa Ihsan Maulana sealed Indonesia's winning point in the second singles, defeating Lee Zii Jia 21-11, 21-11.

Thailand, with a strong team in the Sea Games and top seeds in the women's team event were simply too strong for the hosts in the final.

Goh Jin Wei, the 2015 world junior champion, won her second singles match but her 22-20, 25-23, 22-20 win over Nitchaon Jindapol was in vain.

Busanan Supajirakul handed Thailand the first point – winning her first singles with a 21-12, 21-10 win over Soniia Cheah.

Thailand's second point came in the first doubles with Puttita Supajirakul-Sapsiree Taerattanachai defeating Vivian Hoo-Woon Khe Wei 9-21, 21-11, 21-18.

Second doubles Jongkolphan Kititharakul-Rawinda Prajongjai sealed the gold for Thailand with a 21-12, 16-21, 21-18 win over Chow Mei Kuan-Lee Meng Kean.


Indonesia beat Malaysia 3-0
(Indonesia first)
MS1: Christie Jonatan beat Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin 21-18, 21-17
MD1: Alfian Fajar-Ardianto Muhamad Rian beat Ong Yew Sin-Teo Eei Yi 21-12, 16-21, 21-14
MS2: Mustofa Ihsan Maulana beat Lee Zii Jia 21-11, 21-11

Thailand beat Malaysia 3-1
(Thailand first)
WS1: Busanan Ongbamrungphan beat Sonii Cheah 21-12, 21-10
WD1: Puttita Supajarikul-Sapsire Taerattanachai beat Vivian Hoo-Woon Khe Wei 9-21, 21-11, 21-18
WS2: Nitchaon Jindapol lost to Goh Jin Wei 20-22, 25-23, 20-22
WD2: Jongkolphan Kititharakul-Ranwinda Prajongjai beat Chow Mei Kuan-Lee Meng Kean 21-12, 16-21, 21-18


Most Popular