Home2018China are the Champions

China are the Champions

JAKARTA (23 August 2018) – China claimed the Asian Games men’s team gold medal for a record sixth time after labouring past hosts Indonesia in a thrilling final at the Istora Senayan this evening. China, the reigning Thomas Cup champions, stumbled in the beginning but recovered magnificently to defeat Indonesia 3-1 in today’s final.

The Chinese, team gold medallists in 1974, 1982, 1990, 2006 and 2010, were superb form to dash Indonesia’s dreams in the final played out at a packed venue which included Indonesia’s President Joko Widodo. Today’s victory somewhat eased China’s pain at missing the gold in the previous Games in Incheon where they lost to Korea in the final.

Earlier this afternoon, Japan sensationally wrested the women’s team gold after 48-years. This means both China and Japan had completed a rare double after winning the Thomas Cup and Uber Cup in May this year.

Indonesia, which won the men’s team gold five times since 1962, were aiming to claim the gold again after a lapse of 20 years. The last time Indonesia bagged the gold was in the 1998 Bangkok Games where they defeated China in the final. The Indonesians played their hearts out tonight but were outdone by their experienced rivals.

Anthony came within a whisker of snatching the first point for Indonesia but his failure to seal the deal in the second game led to his defeat to Shi Yuqi. Anthony grabbed the first game 21-15 and was leading 20-18 in the second when he slipped up and paid a heavy price for it. Shi Yuqi defied the odds, ignoring the massive home fan support, to win 23-21.

Anthony refused to let the loss get him down and made every effort to outdo his opponent in the decider. But as the match progressed, it was obvious that Anthony was tiring and losing steam. Towards the end, he was dragging himself which paved the way for Shi Yuqi to move on. Eventually, Anthony could not continue and was forced to retire at 21-20. The Chinese won after 90 minutes to steal a precious point. An exhausted Anthony had to be wheeled out on a stretcher amid thunderous applause from the home fans.

Indonesia’s No. 1 ranked doubles duo, Marcus Fenaldi Gideon-Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo, lived up to their top billing in the second tie to secure a solid victory over Li Junhui-Liu Yuchen. After being tied at 13-all, the Indonesians pulled away to win 21-17. In the second game, the Chinese pair managed to get ahead but Marcus-Kevin quickly put the brakes on them and sealed victory at 21-18.

A delighted Kevin said that they knew what had to be done. “We were confident especially playing at home and in front of these great fans. We did not feel pressured today,” said Kevin. Marcus commented that the team met President Jokowi prior to the game and they were all thrilled to meet him, adding that his presence was a massive boost to them.

Former world champion Chen Long came on next against Jonatan Christie. The fans knew it would be an uphill task but they were hoping their player would pull off the unexpected. To their delight, Jonatan took the first game 21-19 but lost the next 21-16. In the decider, Jonatan kept up with his illustrious rival and was tied at 17. Hopes were running high but all that fizzled out after a few mistakes at the end helped Chen Long walk away the winner at 21-18.

“I knew playing with him would be easy, I knew it would be a long match over an hour. I had a good game first and tried to pressure him in the second, but he’s very experienced and knew what to do to stop me. I ask the fans and everyone for their forgiveness for not winning today.”

In the fourth match of the final, Liu Cheng-Zhang Nan powered through the first game and won 21-18. Fajar Alfian-Muhammad Rian Ardianto, however, battled furiously to down the Chinese 21-17 and force the match into the rubber. It was a close affair up to 12-all, then the Chinese stepped on the gas and surged to a 21-17 victory and the gold.

Once again, four-time world champion, Lin Dan, who was down for the fifth and final game, did not have to play a match but still walked away with a gold medal.

Japan and Chinese Taipei won the bronze medals
 after losing to Indonesia and Chinese Taipei in the semifinals respectively yesterday.
The individual competition begins tomorrow.



China bt Indonesia 3-1

Shi Yuqi bt Anthony Ginting 14-21, 23-21, 21-20 rtd

Li Junhui-Liu Yuchen lost to Marcus Fenaldi Gideon-Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo

17-21, 18-21

Chen Long bt Jonatan Christie 19-21, 21-16, 21-18

Liu Cheng-Zhang Nan bt Fajar Alfian-Muhammad Rian Ardianto 21-18, 17-21, 21-18



1962: Indonesia

1966: Thailand

1970: Indonesia

1974: China

1978: Indonesia

1982: China

1986: South Korea

1990: China

1994: Indonesia

1998: Indonesia

2002: South Korea

2006: China

2010: China

2014: South Korea


Most Popular