Home2018Double joy for Malaysia in the men's doubles

Double joy for Malaysia in the men’s doubles

Malaysia celebrated in the men's doubles finals in the Badminton Asia Under-17 & Under-15 Junior Championships at the Mandalar Thiri Multi-Purpose Stadium in Mandalay, Myanmar on Sunday.

The Malaysians got their first title through Demond Anthony Samin-Wan Muhammad Arif Shaharu Wan Mohd Junaidi – winning the Under-17 title – defeating top-seeded Wei Chun Wei-Wu Guan Xun of Chinese Taipei.

The Malaysians wrapped up the final in 31 minutes, winning 21-18, 21-17 on court 2 – playing an attacking game to frustrate the tournament favorites – much to the delight of the Malaysian supporters.

On the adjacent court 1, it was a tough first game for Muhammad Fazriq Mohamad Razif and his partner Justin Hoh Shou Wei but did enough for a 25-23 win in the first game and from there it was smooth going for them in the second game which they easily win 21-12 against Indonesia's Muhammad Rayhan Nur Fadillah-Marwan Faza.

For Fazriq it was his second men's doubles title in the same championships. He also won the Under-15 doubles title in Yangon last year with Ong Zhen Yi.

Coach-manager Poh Chai Boon was a happy man with the wins in the final.

"The way they played in Mandalay gave us hope of at least a bronze medal. To win the gold is a surprise but there is plenty of talent in the winners," said Chai Boon.

Meanwhile, India celebrated by winning the women's Under-15 title through Meghana Reddy Mareddy-Tasnim who beat Koreans Gong Yeo-jin-Jeong Da-yeon 23-21, 21-18.

The Under-17 title was Thailand's for the taking with second seeds Benyapa Aimsaard-Peeraya Khantaruangsakul registering a 21-12, 21-17 upset win over compatriots and number one seeds Pornpicha Choeikeewong-Pornnicha Suwatnodom in an all-Thailand final.


Men's doubles 
Demond Anthony Samin-Wan Muhammad Arif Shaharu Wan Mohd Junaidi (MAS) beat Wei Chun Wei-Wu Guan Xun (TPE) 21-18, 21-17

Women's doubles
Benyapa Aimsaard-Peeraya Khantaruangsakul (THA) beat Pornpicha Choeikeewong-Pornnicha Suwatnodom (THA) 21-12, 21-17

Men's doubles
Justin Hoh Shou Wei-Muhammad Fazriq Mohamad Razif (MAS) beat Muhammad Rayhan Nur Fadillah-Marwan FAZ (INA) 25-23, 21-12

Women's doubles
Meghana Reddy Mareddy-Tasnim Mir (IND) beat Gong Yeo-jin-Jeong Da-yeon (KOR) 23-21, 21-18



Most Popular