Home2020Indian squads decide on Badminton Asia Manila Team Championships

Indian squads decide on Badminton Asia Manila Team Championships

*Credit Image to Raphael & BWF

India will be in full force in the men's category in the Badminton Asia Manila Team Championships in Manila which will be held at the Rizal Memorial Coliseum from Feb 11-17 but the women's team has withdrawn in view of the current coronavirus situation.

Although Badminton Asia has given assurance on the fast-spreading coronavirus situation the Badminton Association of India in a statement said the matter was discussed with the Indian squad.

"The men agreed to travel and confirmed their participation in Manila. However, the women's team was withdrawn owing to concerns shown by parents and players," secretary-general Ajay Kumar Singhana was quoted.

The Indian men won the bronze medal at the 2016 edition held in Hyderabad – losing 3-1 to Indonesia in the semi-finals. At last, edition held in Alor Setar, Malaysia in 2018 India was beaten 3-1 by China in the quarter-finals.

This time around India will be in full force with an eye in the semi-finals for a place on merit in the Thomas Cup Finals which will be held in Aarhus, Denmark (May 16-24). The top four teams in Manila (semi-finals) will gain an automatic place in the Thomas Cup and Uber Cup (women) Finals.

In the men's category, India will be powered by B. Sai Praneeth, who won the bronze medal in World Championships in Basel, Switzerland last August. B. The others in the team are former World No 1 K. Srikanth, S. Prannoy, Subhankar Dey and Lakshhya Sen. Lakshya, a former Asian Junior champion also won the silver in the Youth Olympics and a bronze in the World Junior.

Thailand Open champions Satwiksairaj Rankireddy-Chirag Shetty and fast-rising Dhruv Kapila-M.R. Arjun carry India's challenge in the men's doubles.

India had picked their back-up squad for the women's category after their top two women shuttlers – P. V. Sindhu and Saina Nehwal decided to skip the tournament in Manila to focus on the Tokyo Olympics. 

Sindhu, the reigning world champion won a silver at the 2016 Rio Olympics while Nehwal won the bronze at the 2012 London Olympics.

B. Sai Praneeth, K. Srikanth, S. Prannoy, Subhanker Dey, Lakshya Sen, Satwiksairaj-Chirag Shetty, Dhruv Kapila-M.R. Arjun


Most Popular