Home2024Chinese Taipei take three titles in VICTOR Kaohsiung Masters 2024

Chinese Taipei take three titles in VICTOR Kaohsiung Masters 2024

Host Chinese Taipei emerged victorious in three out of five events of the VICTOR Kaohsiung Masters 2024 that was concluded earlier this afternoon at the Kaohsiung Arena in the southern city of Kaohsiung, Chinese Taipei.

Lee Chia-hao landed his first BWF World Tour win in his career as he added the Men’s Singles title of the Super 100 Victor Kaohsiung Masters to the Malaysia Masters runners-up, he took last year.

The 25-year-old Chia-hao, the first player from Chinese Taipei to be ranked world junior No. 1 in 2017, was not about to be denied at home when he outplayed Malaysia’s Cheam June Wei.

Chia-hao took just over half an hour to beat June Wei 21-15, 21-12.

Chinese Taipei picked up their second title in the VICTOR Kaohsiung Masters through Chang Ko-chi-Chen Xin-yuan in the Men’s Doubles.

But Ko-chi-Xin-yuan were made to work hard for their win in the all-Chinese Taipei final when Chen Zhi-ray-Lin Yu-chieh took the first set 21-19-21.

However, Ko-chi-Xin-yuan rebounded to take the next two sets 21-16, 22-20 for the well-earned victory.

The home team then wrapped up their third title in Kaohsiung with Hsu Wen-chi overcoming Pai Yu-po in the Women’s Singles final.

The 26-year-old Taipei native added his first ever BWF World Title to a string of BWF International Challenge/Series she won previously by beating compatriot Yu-po 22-20, 21-18 in 41 minutes.

Chinese Taipei was denied in the Women’s Doubles by unheralded Indonesian pair Jesita Putri Miantoro-Febi Setianingrum.

Jesita-Febi dumped tournament no. 2 seed Sung Shuo-yun-Yu Chien-hui from Chinese Taipei 21-14, 21-18.

Ruttanapak Oupthong-Jhenicha Sudjaipraparat from Thailand also served a surprise in the final of the Mixed Doubles when they upstaged top seed Yang Po-hsuan-Hu Ling-fang in front of the home fans.

Ruttanapak-Jhenicha grabbed their first-ever BWF World Tour crown with a 21-18, 21-13 victory.



MEN’S SINGLES: Lee Chia-hao (Chinese Taipei) bt Cheam June Wei (Malaysia) 21-15, 21-12

MEN’S DOUBLES: Chang ko-chi-Chen Xin-yuan (Chinese Taipei) bt Chen Zhi-ray-Lin Yu-chieh (Chinese Taipei) 19-21, 21-16, 22-20

WOMEN’S SINGLES: Hsu Wen-chi (Chinese Taipei) bt Pai Yu-po (Chinese Taipei) 22-20, 21-18

WOMEN’S DOUBLES: Jesita Putri Miantoro-Febi Setianingrum (Indonesia) bt Sung Shuo-yun-Yu Chien-hui (Chinese Taipei) 21-14, 21-18

MIXED DOUBLES: Ruttanapak Oupthong-Jhenicha Sudjaipraparat (Thailand) bt Yang Po-hsuan-Hu Ling-fang (Chinese Taipei) 21-18, 21-13


Most Popular