Home2016Korean favourite Hyun-ill packs off third seed Jorgensen

Korean favourite Hyun-ill packs off third seed Jorgensen

* Credit Image goes to BWF*

On a day when doubles specialist Lee Yong-dae , 28, shocked the badminton fraternity that he is quitting international badminton veteran Lee Hyun-ill showed that age is not a factor for him when he upset third seed Jan O Jorgensen of Denmark to march into the quarter-finals in the Victor Korea Open on Thursday.

The 36-year-old Hyun-ill was a class in his own against the 28-year-old Dane who finished runners-up in last week's Yonex Japan Open – losing to World No 1 and top seed Lee Chong Wei of Malaysia in the final.

At the Seong-nam Indoor Stadium the Korean veteran showed that he can still take on younger players in the highly competitive Superseries with a come-from-behind 18-21, 21-18, 21-13 win in 65 minutes.

In the quarter-finals Hyun-ill will face India's Ajay Jayaram who is making a steady comeback after injuries denied him from vying for a place in the recent Rio Olympics.
The Indian gave a splendid performance to beat China's Huang Yuxiang 21-15, 21-18 in 39 minutes on a day when sixth seed Son Wan-ho threw in his challenge by knocking out India's B. Sai Praneeth with a 21-9, 21-15 win.

His opponent in the quarter-finals is Australian Open champion and Rio Olympics bronze medallist Hans-Kristian Vittinghus. The Dane beat Taiwan's Wang Tzu Wei 21-13, 21-11.
Qualifier Heo Kwang-hee added more cheer for the home fans when he came back strongly after losing the first set to prevail 17-21, 21-13, 21-13 against Germany's Marc Zwiebler – a semi-finalist at last week's Japan Open.

No 4 seed Tian Houwei pulled himself from a set down to beat Korean qualifier Sae Seung-jae 14-21, 21-5, 21-16 in an hour long match to earn a ticket to the quarter-finals against Hong Kong's Vincent Wong Wing Ki who ousted Denmark's Emil Holst 21-11, 21-11.

It was another disappointing show from Malaysia's No 2 Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin. Iskandar is finding life tough in the big league when he lost 21-13, 21-19 to China's Qiao Bin in 53 minutes.

Korea also enjoyed a good run in the women's singles with defending champions Sung Ji-hyun making shortwork of Denmark's Anna Thea Madsen in the second round with a 21-15, 21-14 win in 34 minutes.

Joining Ji-hyun in the quarter-finals are three Kims – Kim Hyo-min and Kim Hyang-im advancing after receiving walkovers Spain's Carolina Marin and Japan's Nozomi Okuhara respectively.

In an all-Korea second round match Kim Ga-eun defeated compatriot Lee Jang-mi 21-16, 21-19 to earn a quarter-final match against Hyo-min. Hyang-im face Japan's Akane Yamaguchi for a place in the semi-finals.

Japan Open champion He Bingjiao was shown the exit when she fell to a shock defeat to Japan's Minatsu Mitani after a 64 minute battle. The Japanese triumphed 18-21, 21-19, 21-16 with a gutsy never say die attitude.

Former world champion and third seed Ratchanok Intanon of Thailand was another to fall by the wayside in surprise 17-21, 17-21 defeat to China's Chen Yufei.

There was more cheer for the Koreans when men's doubles top seeds Lee Yong-dae-Yoo Yeon-seong and women's doubles top seeds Jung Kyung-eun-Shin Seung-chan advanced to the last eight.


Men's singles
Hans-Kristian Vittinghus (Den) beat Wang Tzu Wei (Tpe), 21-13, 21-11
Son Wan-ho (Kor) beat B. Sai Praneeth (Ind) 21-9, 21-15
Lee Hyun Ill (Kor) beat Jan O Jorgensen (Den) 18-21, 21-18, 21-13
Ajay Jayaram (Ind) beat Huang Yuxiang (Chn) 21-15, 21-18
Vincent Wong Wing Ki (Hkg) beat Emil Holst (Den) 21-11, 21-11
Tian Houwei (Chn) beat Seo Seung-jae (Kor) 14-21, 21-5, 21-16
Qiao Bin (Chn) beat Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin (Mas) 21-13, 21-19
Heo Kwang-hee (Kor) beat Marc Zwiebler (Ger) 17-21, 21-13, 21-13

Men's doubles

Lee Yong-dae-Yoo Yeon-seong (Kor) beat Liu Xiaolong-Lu Kai (Chn) 21-19, 21-19
Takeshi Kamura-Keigo Sonoda (Jpn) beat Mathias Christiansen-David Dougaard (Den) 21-11, 21-10
Takuro Hoki-Yogo Kobayashi (Jpn) beat Lee Sheng-mu-Wu Hsiao-Lim (Tpe) 21-10, 22-20, 26-24 
Huang Kaixiang-Wang Yilyu (Chn) beat Hoon Thien How-Teo Kok Siang (Mas) 17-21, 21-13,21-9
Li Junhui-Liu Yuchen (Chn) beat Liu Cheng-Zheng Siwei (Chn) 22-20. 14-21, 24-22
Mohammad Ahsan-Hendra Setiawan (Ina) beat Lee Jhe Huei-Lee Yang (Tpe) 18-21, 21-14, 21-15
Goh V Shem-Tan Wee Kiong (Mas) beat Chen Hung Ling-Wang Chi-Lin (Tpe) Peter Briggs-Tom Wolfenden (Eng) 21-17, 21-16
Chai Biao-Hong Wei (Chn) beat Takuto Inoue-Yuki Kaneko (Jpn) 17-21, 21-15, 21-10

Women's singles

Kim Hyo-min (Kor) w/o Carolina Marin (Spn) 
Kim Ga-eun (Kor) beat Lee Jang-mi (Kor) 21-16, 21-19

Tai Tzu Ying (Tpe) beat Kim Na-young (Kor) 21-15, 19-21, 21=21-13
Sung Ji-hyun (Kor) beat Anna Thea Madsen (Den)  21-15, 21-14
Minatsu Mitani (Jpn) beat He Bingjiao (Chn) 18-21, 21-19, 21-16
Chen Yufei (Chn) beat Ratchanok Intanon (Tha) 21-17, 21-17
Akane Yamaguchi (Jpn) beat Sayaka Sato (Jpn) 21-6, 21-17
Kim Hyang-im (Kor) w/o Nozomi Okuhara

Women's doubles  
Naoko Fukuman-Kurumi Yaono (Jpn) beat Chiang Kai Hsin-Hung Shin Han (Tpe) 21-23, 21-17, 21-17
Jung Kyung-eun-Shin Seung-chan (Kor) beat Linda Elfer-Isabel Herttrich (Ger) 21-19, 21-10
Chang Ye-na-Lee So-hee (Kor) beat Kim Kim So-yeong-Kong Hee-yong (Kor) 21-12, 21-19
Gabriela Stoeva-Stefani Stoeva (Bul) w/o Huang Yaqiong-Tang Junhua (Chn) 
Luo Ying-Luo Yu (Chn) beat Kim Hye-rin-Yoo Hae-won (Kor) 21-6, 21-17
Au Dongni-Yu Xiaohan (Chn) beat Eefje Muskens-Selena Piek (Ned) 21-15, 21-12
Shizuka Matsuo-Mami Naito (Jpn) beat Go Ah-ra-Kim Hyang-im (Kor) 21-19, 21-11
Christinna Pedersen–Kamilla Rytter Juhl (Den) beat Arisa Higashino-Ayane Kurihara (Jpn) 11-12, 21-13, 21-12 

Mixed doubles
Reginald Lee Chun Hei-Chau Hoi Wah (Hkg) beat Kim Dae-eun-Go Ah-ra (Kor) 21-18, 21-12
Chan Peng Soon-Goh Liu Ying (mas) beat Kim Duk-young-Kim Hye-rin (Kor) 21-17, 21-16
Kim Astrup-Line Kjaersfeldt (Den) beat Huang Kaixiang-Yu Xiaohan (Chn) 21-13, 12-21, 21-9
Lu Kai-Huang Yaqiong (Chn) beat Jacco Arrends-Selena Piek (Ned) 21-15, 21-13
Chung Eui-seok- Yoo Hae-won (Kor) beat Chris Adcock-Gabrielle Adcock (Eng) 22-20, 21-7
Zheng Siwei-Cheng Qingchen (Chn) beat Lee Yang-Hsu Ya Ching (Tpe) 21-14, 21-10
Anders Skaarup Rasmussen-Sara Thygesen (Den) beat Kenta Kazuno-Ayane Kurihara (Jpn) 17-21, 21-19, 21-17
Ko Sung-hyun-Kim Ha-na (Kor) beat Bae Kwon-young-Kong Hee-yong (Kor) 21-13, 21-17


Most Popular