Home2017Marin and Sindhu set up a repeat of Rio Olympics final in...

Marin and Sindhu set up a repeat of Rio Olympics final in India Open

Indian badminton fans got their prayers answered when P.V. Sindhu set up a repeat Olympics women's singles final against Spain's Carolina Marin in the Yonex Sunrise India Open.

In the semi-finals played at the Sri Fort Indoor Stadium on Saturday the 21-year-old Sindhu who lost to Marin in the Olympics final was on the court for 76-minutes before prevailing in three set 21-18, 14-21, 21-14 against second seed Sung Ji-hyun of Korea much to the delight of the home supporters.

The home crowd will again be rooting for the third seeded Sindhu to prevail against top seed Mari who had a much easier match against Japan's Akane Yamaguchi in her 21-16, 21-14 in 40 minutes.

The men's singles final see three-time finalist Viktor Axelsen of Denmark face Taiwan's Chou Tien Chen. Axelsen, seeded third, who is hoping to break the jinx of last two years smashed his way to a 21-12, 21-13 win over Hong Kong's Angus Ng Ka Long.

Seventh seed Tien Chen was too strong for Danish newcomer Anders Antonsen to win 21-17, 21-14.

There was a big upset in the women's doubles when Japan's Shiho Tanaka-Koharu Yonemoto stayed cool to upset top seeds Junh Kyung-eun-Shin Seung-chan of Korea 21-16, 19-21, 24-22 in a marathon 77-minute battle.

It will be an all-Japan women's doubles final with third seeds Naoko Fukuman-Kurumi Yanao winning 21-16, 21-13 against compatriots Yuki Fukushima-Sayaka Hirota.

The men's doubles final will be an all-Indonesia final between recently crowned All-England champions and world No 1 Marcus Fernaldi Gideon-Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo and sixth seeds Ricky Karanda Suwardi-Angga Pratama.

Fourth seeds Marcus-Kevin were taken the full distance in their 21-14, 18-21, 21-9 win over Mads Conrad Petersen-Mads Pieler Kolding while Ricky and Angga upset China's Li Junhui-Liu Yuchen 21-16, 13-21, 21-16.

China will battle for the mixed doubles title with second seeds Lu Kai-Hunag Yaqiong facing top seeds Zheng Siwei-Chen Qingchen in the final. 



Chou Tien Chen (Tpe) beat Anders Antonsen (Den) 21-17, 21-14
Viktor Axelsen (Den) beat Angust Ng Ka Long (Hkg) 21-12, 21-13


Marcus Fernaldi Gideon-Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo (Ina) beat Mads Conrad Petersen-Mads Piele Kolding (Den) 21-14, 18-21, 21-9
Ricky Karanda Suwardi-Angga Pratama (Ina) beat Li Junhui-Liu Yuchen (Chn) 21-16, 13-21, 21-16


Carolina Marin (Spn) beat Akane Yamaguchi (Jpn) 21-16, 21-14
P.V. Sindhu (Ind) beat Sung Ji-hyun (Kor) 21-18, 14-21, 21-14


Naoko Fukuman-Kurumi Yanao (Jpn) beat Yuki Fukushima-Sayaka Hirota (Jpn) 21-16, 21-13
Shiho Tanaka-Koharu Yonemoto (Jpn) beat Jung Kyung-eun-Shin Seung-chan (Kor) 21-16, 19-21, 24-22

Mixed Doubles

Zheng Siwei-Chen Qingchen (Chn) w/o Chan Peng Soon-Goh Liu Ying (Mas)
Lu Kai-Huang Yaqiong (Chn) beat Chris Adcock-Gabrielle Adcock (Eng) 21-13, 21-13



Most Popular