Home2017Asians rule the seedings in World Championships

Asians rule the seedings in World Championships

South Korea's Son Wan-ho and Japan's Akane Yamaguchi led an array of Asian stars as the men's and women's singles top seeds in the TOTAL BWF World Championships to be held in Glasgow, Scotland from Aug 21-27.

The Asians virtually swept all the top seedings in the world meet – based on Badminton World Federation's rankings issued on Aug 3.

Wan-ho is followed by Malaysian ace and former world number one Lee Chong Wei with Denmark's Viktor Axelsen, the Rio Olympics bronze medallist as the third seed.

Axelsen is the only European in the top 10 seedings. China's rising star Shi Yuqi is the fourth seed with defending champion Chen Long of China seeded fifth – behind compatriot Shi Yuqi while five-time world champion Lin Dan comes in as the seventh seed.

India have three players in seeded bracket with Indonesia Open and Australia Open champion K. Srikanth highest ranked at number eight. Ajay Jayaram is seed 13th while B. Sai Praneeth, winner of the Singapore Open seeded 15th.

In the women's singles world number one Tai Tzu Ying of Chinese Taipei is not competing in Glasgow. The 22-year-old is skipping the world meet to play in the World University Games (Universiade) which will be held in Taipei about the same time.

World No 2 Akane Yamaguchi leads the seedings in the women's singles with Korean Sung Ji-hyun seeded second. Defending champion Carolina Marin of Spain is seeded third.

Former world number one and world champion Ratchanok Intanon is seeded eighth.
China's Li Junhui-Liu Yuchen of China get the top billing in the men's doubles with Denmark's Mathias Boe-Carsten Mogensen seeded second.

Olympic champions and Australian Open winners Misaki Matsutomo-Ayaka Takahashi are the number one seeds in the women's doubles. Denmark's Kamilla Rhytter Juhl-Christinna Pedersen, the Rio Olympics silver medallist, are the second seeds. All England champions Chang Ye-na-Lee So-hee of Korea are seeded third.

The top two seeds in the mixed doubles come from China. Zheng Siwei-Chen Qingchen are the top seeds with compatriots Lu Kai-Huang Yaqiong the second seeds.

Top seedings

1. Son Wan-ho (KOR)
2. Lee Chong Wei (MAS)
3. Viktor Axelsen (DEN)
4. Shi Yuqi (CHN)
5, Chen Long (CHN)
6. Chou Tien-chen (TPE)
7. Lin Dan (CHN)
8. K. Srikanth (IND)
9. Angus Ng Ka Long (HKG)
10. Tian Houwei (CHN)
11. Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk (THA)
12. Vincent Wong Wing Ki (HKG)
13. Ajay Jayaram (IND)
14. Anders Antonsen (DEN)
15. B. Sai Praneeth (IND)
16. Rajiv Ouseph (ENG)

1. Akane Yamaguchi (JPN)
2. Sung Ji-hyun (KOR)
3. Carolina Marin (SPN)
4. P.V. Sindhu (IND)
5. Sun Yu (CHN)
6. He Bingjiao (CHN)
7. Nozomi Okuhara (JPN)
8. Ratchanok Intanon (THA)
9. Chen Yufei (CHN)
10. Sayaka Sato (JPN)
11. Aya Ohori (JPN)
12. Saina Nehwal (IND)
13. Cheung Ngan Yi
14. Chen Xiaoxin (CHN)
15. Beatrice Corrales (SPN)
16. Kirsty Gilmour (SCO)

1. Li Junhui-Liu Yuchen (CHN)
2. Mathias Boe-Carsten Mogensen (DEN)
3. Marcus Fernaldi Gideon-Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo (INA)
4. Takeshi Kamura-Keigo Sonoda (JPN)
5. Goh V Shem-Tan Wee Kiong (MAS)

1. Misaki Matsutomo-Ayaka Takahashi (JPN)
2. Kamilla Rhytter Juhl-Christinna Pedersen (DEN)
3. Chang Ye-na-Lee So-hee (KOR)

4. Chen Qingchen-Jia Yifan (CHN) 
5. Jung Kyung-eun-Shin Seung-chan (KOR)

1. Zheng Siwei-Chen Qingchen (CHN)

2. Lu Kai-Huang Yaqiong (CHN)
3. Tontowi Ahmad-Liliyana Natsir (INA)
4. Zhang Nan-Li Yinhui (CHN)
5. Chris Adcock-Gabrielle Adcock (ENG)



Most Popular