Home2017Olympic champions falls in Danisa Denmark Open

Olympic champions falls in Danisa Denmark Open

Image taken from Keeda.com

In the battle of former World No 1s India's unseeded Saina Nehwal dumped two-time world champion and Rio Olympics gold medallist Carolina Marin of Spain in straight games in the first round in the Danisa Denmark Open Superseries in Odense on Wednesday.

The Indian who is now ranked No 12 etched out a 22-20, 21-18 win over the fifth ranked Spaniard. The win made up for her second round defeat to Marin in the Yonex Japan Open this year and the BCA Indonesia Open.

It was one of the better performance from Nehwal who has battled injuries, including knee surgery she sustained while training for the Rio Olympics. The injury saw Nehwal fail to qualify for the knockout stage.

While Nehwal celebrated it was gloom for compatriots and Rio Olympics and World Championships silver medallist P.V. Sindhu. Sindhu suffered a surprise  first round exit – losing to China's junior world champion Chen Yufei 21-17, 23-21.

Another former world No 1 Ratchanok Intanon of Thailand was also in winning form and ousted Scotland's Kirsty Gilmour 21-17, 21-13.

There was also no joy for reigning Olympics men's singles champion Chen Long of China. The Chinese ace was bundled out by South Korean veteran Lee Hyun Il who advanced with a 21-19, 22-20 win and keep a second round date with defending champion Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk of Thailand.

The Thai came through a hard fought three-game 21-18, 15-21, 21-16 victory over Hong Kong's Angus Ng Ka Long in a 63 minute match.

Indonesian youngster Jonatan Christie also cleared his first hurdle with ease, defeating Hong Kong's Hu Yun 21-8, 21-11 in 27 minutes. 



Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk (THA) beat Angus Ng Ka Long (HKG) 21-18, 15-21, 21-16
Lee Chong Wei (MAS) beat Pablo Aiman (SPN) 21-12, 21-16
K. Srikanth (IND) beat Subhankar Dey (IND) 21-17, 21-15
Lee Hyun Il (KOR) beat Chen Long (CHN) 21-19, 22-20
H. S. Prannoy (IND) beat Emil Holst (DEN) 21-18, 21-19
Chou Tien Chen (TPE) beat Tian Houwei (CHN) 22-20, 21-14
Jonatan Christie (INA) beat Hu Yun (HKG) 21-8, 21-11


Tai Tzu Ying (TPE) beat Cheung Ngan Yi (HKG) 21-18, 21-13
Ratchanok Intanon (THA) beat Kirsty Gilmour (SCOT) 21-17, 21-13
Saina Nehwal (IND) beat Carolina Marin (SPN) 22-20, 21-18
Chen Yu (CHN) beat P.V. Sindhu (IND) 21-17, 23-21
Akane Yamaguchi (JPN) beat Yip Pui Yin (HKG) 21-15, 21-17


Most Popular