Home2017Bad outings for World and Olympic champions in Odense

Bad outings for World and Olympic champions in Odense

On a day when defending champion Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk of Thailand surrendered his title several other top seeds were shown the exit in the Danisa Denmark Open Superseries in Odense on Thursday.

Tanongsak was blown away by Korean veteran Lee Hyun Il in three games with the Korean winning the 70-minute battle 15-21, 21-19, 21-14.

There were shocks to come for Olympic champions following the first round exit of China's Chen Long (men's singles) and Spain's Carolina Marin (women's singles).

Rio Olympics women's doubles champions Misaki Matsutomo-Ayaka Takahashi of Japan also bit the dust with the top seeds losing their second round match against newly formed Korean pair Chae Yoo-jung-Kim Hye-rin 17-21, 19-21.

Newly crowned women's doubles world champions Chen Qingchen-Jia Yifan, seeded second in Odense, were also ousted – going down to Indonesia's Della Destiara Haris-Rizki Amelia Pradipta 21-23, 21-18, 21-10.

It was also tough going for world champions Zhang Nan-Liu Cheng in the men's doubles before the Chinese pair prevailed 15-21, 21-18, 21-15 against the Indonesia-Malaysia combination of Hendra Setiawan-Tan Boon Heong.

Meanwhile, in the men's singles India's eighth seed K. Srikanth advanced to the quarter-finals with a 21-13, 8-21, 21-18 win over Korea's Jeong Hyeok-jin. Srikanth will face newly crowned world champion and home favourite Viktor Axelsen for a place in the last four. 

Viktor struggled to a three-game 17-21, 21-10, 23-21 win over Hong Kong China veterab Wei Nan in 62 minutes.

Malaysia's former world No 1 and seventh seed was upstaged by India's rising start H.S. Prannoy who won 21-7, 11-21, 21-19. It was Prannoy's second successive win over the Malaysian, having defeated Chong Wei 21-10, 21-18 in the BCA Indonesia Open in June.


Son Wan-ho (KOR) beat Anders Antonsen (DEN) 20-22, 21-14, 21-18
Viktor Axelsen (DEN) beat Wei Nan (HKG) 17-21, 21-10, 23-21
Chen Tien Chen (TPE) beat Hans-Kristian Vittinghus (DEN) 21-15, 18-21, 21-11
Lee Hyun Il (KOR) beat Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk (THA) 15-21, 21-19, 21-14
K. Srikanth (IND) beat Jeon Hyeok-jin (KOR) 21-13, 8-21, 21-18
H.S. Prannoy (IND) beat Lee Chong Wei (MAS) 21-17, 11-21, 21-19


Tai Tzu Ying (TPE) beat Busanan Ongbamrungphan (THA) 12-21, 21-18, 21-8
Sayaka Sato (JPN) beat He Bingjiao (CHN) 21-17, 22-20
Ratchanok Intanon (THA) beat Michelle Li (CAN) 21-11, 21-16
Chen Yufei (CHN) beat Linda Zetchiri (BUL) 21-6, 21-14
Saina Nehwal (IND) beat Nitchaon Jindapol (THA) 22-20, 21-13
Akane Yamaguchi (JPN) beat Zhang Beiwen (USA) 21-23, 21-15, 21-14
Sung Ji-hyun (KOR) beat Julie Dawall Jakonsen (DEN) 21-6, 21-13



Most Popular