Home2017Thailand's Jindapol regains Bitburger Open Grand Prix Gold title

Thailand’s Jindapol regains Bitburger Open Grand Prix Gold title

( *Credit image : Detik Sports) 

Thailand's Nitchapon Jindapol won her second Bitburger Badminton Open Grand Prix Gold title on Sunday in three finals after finishing runners-up last year. 

Jindapol was simply ecstatic when top seed, China-born Zhang Beiwen of the United States of American sent the shuttle long which gave her the women's singles title in the USD120,000 Bitburger Badminton Open Grand Prix in Saarlandhalle, Germany.

The Thai lass, howeverwas taken the distance and battled for 69 minutes before prevailing 21-17, 15-21, 21-19 to regain the title she last won in 2013.

In last year's final Jindapol lost to China's He Bingjiao 21-11, 21-18.

On Sunday, Jindapol, ranked 15 in the world, however, gave a polished display to turn the tide on Beiwen (World No 12) – with her superior court coverage and drop shots that often left her opponent stranded.

The win narrowed the head to head count to 2-3 in favour of Beiwen.

Thailand won a second title in the German tournament when SEA Games gold medalists Jongkolphan Kititharakul and Rawinda Prajongjai took the women's doubles.

The second seeded Thai pair needed only 37 minutes to walkaway with a 21-19, 21-6 win over Japan's Akane Araki-Aoi Matsuda.

It was a stroll for the Thai's after Matsuda injured a finger in her right hand at the start of the second game.

China's 2016 world junior champions He Jiting-Du Yue took the mixed doubles title after carving out a 21-18, 21-17 win over Denmark's Anders Skaarup Rasmussen-Line Kjaersfeldt in 39 minutes.

The men's singles title went to Denmark's Rasmus Gemke who clinched his first Grand Prix title when he upset fourth seed Hsu Jen Hao of Chinese Taipei 21-18, 21-10.

Denmark's Kim Astrup-Anders Skaarup Rasmussen, seeded second, toiled for 66 minutes to beat fourth seeds Fajar Alfian-Muhammad Rian Ardianto of Indonesia 21-19, 19-21, 21-18 for the men's doubles title.   

Men's singles 
Rasmus Gemke (DEN) beat Hse Jen Hao (TPE) 21-18, 21-10

Men's Doubles
Kim Astrup-Anders Skaarup Rasmussen (DEN) beat Fajar Alfian-Muhammad Rian Ardianto (INA) 21-19, 19-21, 21-18

Women's singles
Nitchaon Jindapol (THA) beat Zhang Beiwen (USA) 21-17, 15-21, 21-19 

Women's doubles
Jongkolphan Kititharakul-Rawinda Prajongjai (THA) beat Akane Araki-Aoi Matsuda (JPN) 21-19, 21-6

Mixed doubles
He Jiting-Du Yue (CHN) beat Anders Skaarup Rasmussen-Line Kjaersfeldt (DEN) 21-18, 21-17 


Most Popular