Home2019Pakistan's Mahoor keeps her Tokyo Olympics hope alive

Pakistan’s Mahoor keeps her Tokyo Olympics hope alive

Pakistan's top woman shuttler Mahoor Shahzad overcame an ankle injury to win the singles title in the Yonex Sunrise Pakistan International Series in Islamabad, Pakistan on Sunday with an upset win over top seed and favorite Soraya Aghaeihajiagha of Iran.

The 23-year-old Mahoor, who is chasing her Olympics dream, beat Soraya in three games 21-15, 16-21 21-16 in 47 minutes at the Rodham Hall, Pakistan Sports Complex in Islamabad for Pakistan's only title in the tournament.

A week before the tournament Mahoor was forced to pull out of Algeria Open after picking up an ankle injury during training in Denmark.

In the semi-finals, Mahoor beat Neela Najeeb of the Maldives 21-18, 21-11 while Soraya defeated another Pakistan hope Palwasha Bashir 21-14, 21-15.

Mahoor's hopes of a double celebration ended when she and Bushra Qayyum slumped to a 17-21, 13-21 defeat to top seeds – Abdul Razzaq siblings Aminath Nabeeha-Fathimath Nabaaha in the women's doubles final.

Thailand's sixth-seeded Saran Jamsri surprised fourth seed Georges Julien Paul of Mauritius 21-14, 21-10 in 27 minutes for the men's singles title.

In the semi-finals, Jamsri knocked out Pakistan's hope Awais Zahid 21-17, 18-21, 21-14 while Paul ousted Howard Shu of the United States in three games 21-14, 14-21, 21-7.

Thailand clinched a double in Islamabad by winning the men's doubles through second seeds Prad Tangsrirapeephan-Apichasit Teerawiwat who stunned top seeds Dipesh Dhami-Ratnajit Timang of Nepal 26-24, 21-14 in the final.

The Maldives also won a double by taking the mixed doubles title through Hussein Shaheed-Fathimath Nabaaha. The pair upset top-seeded Dipesh Dhami-Amitaa Giri of Nepal 21-16, 21-19 in a 29-minute final.


Mixed doubles
Hussein Shaheed-Fathimath Nabaaha (MDV) Dipesh Dhami-Amita Giri (NEP) 21-16, 21-19

Women's singles
Mahoor Shahzad (PAK) beat Soraya Aghaeihajiagha (IRN) 21-15, 16-21, 21-16

Men's singles
Saran Jamsri (THA) beat Georges Julien Paul (MUS) 21-14, 21-10

Women's doubles
Aminath Nabeeha-Fathimath Nabaaha (MDV) beat Bushra Qayyum-Mahoor Shahzad (PAK) 21-17, 21-13

Men's doubles
Prad Tangsrirapheephan-Apichasit Teerawiwad (THA) beat Dipesh Dhami-Ratnajit Timang (NEP) 26-24, 21-14



Most Popular